A Letter from Jess Lutz in Haiti

photo 3 (2)

Bonswa soti nan bél Ayiti! Hello from beautiful Haiti!

I cannot believe that I have already been here for two weeks. The time seems to be flying by, but God is good and I am learning a lot.

For the first week of my internship, we went through training to learn all of the background information and history of Mission of Hope and the vision that they have for this country. As interns, we received that training so that we can better represent Mission of Hope since we are basically the face of the organization. Also, during the first week, we got the chance to tour all 11 villages that MOH works with and sends teams to. It was very encouraging and exciting to see all that God is doing through MOH, and how the Haitian people are being equipped in order to lead their own country and generation. One of the unique things about MOH is that they believe in indigenous mobilization. Basically, that means that they want to have all of their projects here in Haiti fully run by Haitians. This prevents them from becoming dependent on the U.S. and North Americans. A form of indigenous mobilization is the Village Champions, which are members of each of the 11 villages that MOH works with. They are picked by the local pastors based on their relationship with Christ and their deisre to see their village and community changed for the better. Essentially, they are the liaison betwen the local village and Mission of Hope. This is the part where I come in!

photo 2 (2)

My role as an intern is to lead the American mission teams that come to Mission of Hope. I work with the Village Champions in each village to see out life transformation for every man, woman, and child in Haiti.

This past week, I had the chance to lead a medical team along with two North American staff members that live here in Haiti. I worked with a pharmacist for the week, and she taught me how to run the pharmacy at the clinic. It was a lot of fun learning about a completely new area of the medical field and I am excited to work with the mobile clinic again! We took the team out to two villages, Bercy and Leveque. We held mobile clinics in both of these villages. The mobile clinics  provide free consultations with a Haitian doctor and the opportunity to receive medication that has been donated to MOH through other medical partners. At the end of the clinic visit, the patients have the chance to visit and pray with Haitian pastors. This past week, we saw about 260 patients and 16 of them accepted Christ at the clinic! It was a very successful week, physically and spiritually.

photo 1

This week, I will be getting a team on Wednesday and I get to take them out into another local village called Minoterie. We will do village time and visit with the local people, building relationships with adults and the children there. We will also have two days to do a work project which will consist of painting and planting trees. I am so excited to interact with the local Haitians and to continue building relationships with them. I also have loved getting to speak and use so much of the Creole that I already know. It also helps that the translators and children are always making sure that they are teaching me new phrases 🙂 My favorites so far are: “pa fe sa”- don’t do that, and “mwen rele pa blan”- my name isn’t Blan (that is their nickname for us Americans, which means white!)

I definitely feel like I’m getting settled in here and Haiti just feels like home. I’m so thankful that I’m able to spend this season of my life in Haiti and I look forward to all that God is going to teach me through my time here.  Philippians 4:4-13 has been such an amazing passage to hold on to as I make this transition into my new, temporary home.

Bondye beni ou (God bless you),

Jess Lutz

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The LORD is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving, let your requests be make known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise,think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me–practice these things. And the God of peace will be with you.

I rejoiced in the LORD greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Philippians 4:4-13