Reflecting on Haiti (Pt. 1)

haiti 1

After arriving in Port-au-Prince and a short flight to Cap Hatien, our Haiti Missions team hopped into the back of the truck that would take us to our home for the next week, the Institut Theologique de la Grace. Very little was said on the ride to the Bible Institute. It’s a lot to process and take in, especially for those who have never seen anything like it. Personally, I felt that I was as prepared as I could be. I had spent a few months living in South America in an area that was branded by poverty. I remembered how jarring it is to be reminded of a different reality, so foreign to my own.

Still, when we pulled onto the bumpy road that would lead us to the Institute and I caught a glimpse of the children from the surrounding village running to meet us, my heart swelled. This is one thing I learned about Haiti: just as the hurts, the poverty, and hopelessness start to overwhelm, a hidden beauty bursts forth, a reminder of God’s great love. Before both feet reached the ground as we climbed off the truck, the children were reaching for our hands, hugging, and squealing with excitement. So much joy even in the humblest circumstances.


haiti 5haiti 4haiti 6

I look forward to sharing more with you about our week in Haiti. And, trust me, there is much to share. Please be praying for the team members as they adjust back to the daily grind and reflect on all the things they experienced and learned while in Haiti and how that impacts life here at home. In the meantime, be encouraged knowing that the Lord is at work in Haiti and through missions at Grace Church. Each morning, since we’ve returned home, those precious children flood into my thoughts and I ask you to join me in praying for them, not just their physical needs, but that they would truly know Jesus Christ as their Savior.

haiti 3