Joan McCracken: Trip to Cambodia and G.R.O.W.

Lately, I’ve been reflecting on my recent trip to SE Asia earlier this year in preparation for an upcoming opportunity to share this Sunday, April 17 in the Encouragers ABF class. By the way, the class meets 2nd hour (10:45AM) in the music room and you are welcome to come hear more!

Due to a recent life change, job elimination, I’ve found myself faced with new opportunities. Mike (my husband) and I decided I could use this time to reconnect with ministries we have been involved with in Cambodia and Thailand. I knew I would be stretch since Mike would not be going with me and felt I needed to be prepared for the opportunities I would have while on this trip to share with others. I decided to use a bible study called “Add to your Faith” by Bill Perry.

This new Testament Study of God’s spiritual growth plan is based on 2 Peter 1:3-11. And even though my itinerary did not have specific planned times of sharing, I knew if I was diligent in taking time to be prepared, my efforts would be “useful”.

 || Cambodia ||

My week in Cambodia offered opportunities for me to be bold and share encouragement to the ministry partners there in Cambodia that Grace Church has partnered with for many years. I gave them greetings from Lititz Grace Church and read them a letter of encouragement from Pastor Ivanildo. It was so good to reconnect with these men and their families. I also had the opportunity to share in some English classes for university students for three days.

joan-blog cambodia 2

joan-blog cambodia

|| Thailand ||

During my remaining three weeks in Thailand at the G.R.O.W. home, I had many opportunities to fellowship with the kids and staff. One other highlight was that I was able to meet the SIX new children, recently rescued and adjusting well to the nurturing and Christian love of their new home. It was a blessing to enjoy many activities with the children playing games and spending time together. In three different staff meetings and at Sunday morning church time with the kids, I was able to use the study I had prepared–praise God.

joan-blog thailand 3

But God had even more in store for me. One Sunday evening, I was invited to visit and share with an Akha Hill Tribe church during a three day Pastor’s seminary training. Had I not been prepared, I know I would have missed out greatly on the opportunity and growth God wanted me to experience through this time.

joan-blog thailand 2

joan_blog thailand

We are so thankful to God that He opened the doors for Joan to make this month-long trip to our ministry partners in Thailand and Cambodia. Please keep them and their ministries in your prayers as you read this. And don’t forget, you’re invited to join the Encouragers ABF on April 17 at 10:45 in the music room to hear more about Joan’s time in SE Asia!