South Africa Series: Kathy McClure (part 5)

The concert last night was incredible! This nation is in a hopeful place of change. Everyone I have talked to who has been here before say they notice it changing. God is at work.

South Africa recently had an election, and last night I learned that there are born again Christians now in leadership positions. I believe something big is happening here. And I am thrilled that I have had the privilege of seeing part of it on this trip.

Just a few quick things to think about, and that I will be thinking about on my trip home. Apartheid ended here in 1993 – only 26 years ago. More and more South Africans are learning about what happened at that time and the need for reconciliation. And it is starting to happen. That’s God at work.

My prayer is that more South Africans will be made aware of the poverty in the nation. It is hard for us to understand, but many of them do not know that less than 30 minutes away there is extreme poverty and families are living in huts made out of tin.

Pray with me their eyes will be opened. There were over 20,000 Christians worshipping God at the Bethel Concert last night. All I could think about during the concert was what would happen if each of those persons would travel to Hammensgrall or Maubane and help just one family! (Maubane has about 15,000 people living in it.)

It may seem impossible for people to change so radically so quickly, but our God is BIG. And He gives us HOPE!

I don’t want to overwhelm anyone, but I did want to share with you a home of a family in poverty. We met them two days ago. I’ll let the photos speak their own words.

img_7241

img_7242

img_7238

img_7236

img_7248

Heading Home
Today we are flying back home to the States. We’ll leave at 11:30pm South Africa time (about 5:30pm EST) and then after 3 different flights I’ll be home in Pennsylvania late Saturday night.

I’m usually pretty flexible and adaptable, but I will be honest with you. The length of the flights on the way here definitely got to me. I appreciate your prayers on our flight home – I know it was difficult for others on the team too and some of them have further to go than I do.

Our team included advocates and leaders from Pennsylvania, Tennesse, Idaho, Illinois, Colorado, Canada, and Uganda!

Some of you have been asking about receiving the previous emails I sent on this trip (especially those of you who are just signing up for the email list now). I do plan on making posts on my blog of all of those emails, and I will keep this email list updated on those posts.

Thank you so much for following my trip with me and for all of the encouraging emails I have received from you. It has meant a lot to me and to the team!

See many of you soon!!!

-Kathy

Written: 9.16.16